Bill C-10

Posted: March 13, 2012 by Ed Griffin in Prison
Tags: , , , ,

A note of sadness today as the conservatives in Parliament pass the crime bill, C-10. It’s one thing for me and my left-leaning friends to oppose this bill, but when Texas conservatives disagree with it, that’s another thing. They tried to tell Ottawa that it wouldn’t work, that it’s been tried in the USA and it didn’t work there.

‘Been there; done that; didn’t work,’ say Texas crime-fightersTexas badge

http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/story/2011/10/17/pol-vp-milewski-texas-crime.html

Canadian Bar AssociationThe Canadian Bar Association also opposes this bill. http://www.cba.org/cba/blastemail/pdf/10_reasons_to_oppose.pdf

I worked for eighteen years in Canadian prisons and now I work with people with drug and alcohol dependencies. All of the people I’ve worked with will be negatively affected by this bill, even those who are trying to do better. I suppose Harper thinks we will forget about this by the time of the next election. A sad day indeed. I feel guilty today that I didn’t do more to stop this scar on the image of the country I love.

What is your opinion of bill C-10?

 

Images courtesy of:

  • County.org
  • sources.com
Comments
  1. Joanne says:

    Yesterday was a very sad day indeed!

    Bill C-10 has many problems. The sections that I oppose the most have to do with mandatory minimum sentences. I really don’t differentiate as to what the offences are that are being targetted. Mandatory minimums are a major problem no matter what they are for. I very strongly believe that all people are individuals and all people benefit from being treated on a case-by-case basis. What may work for one person may be very detrimental to another. Mandatroy minimums take away discretion and treat everyone the same. I have two sons and I know that what worked for one did not work for the other with respect to discipline. The same is true of offenders.

    In addition, for those who seem to care only about money, mandatory minimums are also bad for the pocketbook, as taxpayers will eventually realize. Court costs will skyrocket as accused people will no longer have any incentive to plead guilty. Defense lawyers will advise all to go to trial, as that would be the only possible way out of a certain sentence.

    There are of course many other problems with the crime bill and it is very upsetting that the current government chose to push it through, ignoring the upsurge of descent that it created.

    • Ed Griffin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. You raise excellent points about lawyers and trials. In a very practical way we can see how the courts, already crowded, are going to be more so. But your main point, I really appreciate– work with people as individuals. Our prison system already fails that way.
      Ed
      http://edgriffin.net/

  2. Being over here in Oz, I know nothing about Bill C-10, but knowing you, Ed, I’m sure you did everything you could, so please don’t blame yourself.

    • Ed Griffin says:

      Thanks, Danielle. I often feel like I’m a man trying to pull drowning men out of a river. I grab one, but ten get away. I never go up river and find out why so many men are falling in. Yes, I do what I can with the men and women God puts in my way. But I know that the problems are political and sociological
      There was a woman here who used to visit the guys in prison and she was very vocal. Eventually she was banned from prison and she wrote a book with that title, “Banned from Prison.” Her very vocal approach I’m sure made many people think. I’m quieter than that.
      Just reflecting. Thanks for your support.
      Ed
      http://edgriffin.net/

Leave a Reply

