I’m working on a novel that scares the hell out of me. Here’s how it happened. People kept talking to me about prison. “You’re against prison, Griffin. So what’s your answer?

I’m trying to write my answer. It’s called Delaney’s Hope and it’s the story of a man with a dream. Delaney wants to set up a prison that really works. Right now 1 out of 2 people who get out of prison will return. Delaney wants something different.

To do this novel I had to look up a lot of prison programs. But the bigger challenge was to make the characters come alive. A rule of mine is NO PREACHING, which means I can’t push my ideas in the novel. I can’t say what I think. I can’t say so-and-so is a jerk, I can’t say Delaney has a good idea. I have to respect my characters and let them do what they will. While the book started out as my idea, I hope I let the characters do what they wanted to do

I’m trying to get Delaney’s Hope out this year.prison

Comments
  1. James Inglis says:

    Can’t wait to read it Ed.

  2. Joanne says:

    I’m glad you are writing this novel, Ed. I am also happy you are making an attempt not to be preachy in it. I am currently reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin for my bookclub and I think the book could have been a lot better if Beecher-Stowe did not preach as much as she did throughout that novel.

    Having said that, there are HUGE parallels between institutionalized slavery in the US and the way they (Americans) and we (Canadians) are treating our prisoners. There is one part in the book–in my opinion hugely overdone, but still makes the point–where a young slave, Topsy, explains how there’s no reason for her to be “good”, given she has no one to love her.

  3. Good luck with it, Ed. I still have, I think, the 500 or so words you sent me about the book and am happy to put them up on my blog whenever the book comes out.

  4. Meredith Egan says:

    I’m excited that this is soon available, Ed. I’ll be taking it inside…i look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

